The latest and (not so) greatest

It’s been awhile since I’ve written, so this entry is more of a life update (rather than having more of a theme to it).

This first holiday season without my father, combined with having major life changes on my plate soon after the new year, has made this a difficult time to confront for anyone (much less someone with my inner demons). Lately I’ve gotten back into sports cards; this time just as a collector rather than a dealer. It gives me something to smile about and I’ve been getting a lot of quality stuff that I’ve both always wanted and that should hold its value (or hopefully even appreciate some).

The thing is though, I’ve been buying more than I expected to. And I can’t deny that there’s another reason why: it provides some stability for my finances. Every dollar I spend on worthwhile cards is another dollar that I can’t piss away because of my still-lingering life discipline issues. And it’s not a comfortable feeling to know that you’ve acquired a safety net to help cushion you from your flaws.

As we get into the new year, I’m still hoping to somehow find the strength, focus, and willpower to improve life. Some of the issues are mid-life crisis related, and some have lingered throughout my adulthood. But all of them need addressed as soon as possible.

Anyway…..I hope everyone has a great holiday season. And to those going through one that will combine sadness, memories, and a new era (like mine), I can relate. And I wish you the best

Leave a comment