Rush, rush

“I wanna see…..I wanna see you get free with me”

It was the summer of 1991, and I was fortunate enough to be on a Carnival cruise (family vacation). At the back of the ship’s nightclub with some other teenagers that I’d met a few days prior. We shouldn’t have even been in there, but the DJ had been generous enough to let us use that back area of the dance floor each night.

And we took full advantage. I still remember being locked in a slow dance with a girl named Jenny (as Paula Abdul sung her great new ballad that was being heard everywhere). The girl I would soon have my first kiss later that night.

I was 16 years old. My whole life was in front of me.

While the “and without a care in the world” cliche doesn’t apply (I never had that kind of easy and happy teenage life, other than rare escapes like that cruise)…..the one that does is how the future still seemed bright.

Never did I ever guess that I’d be typing this kind of blog entry 30 years later. Especially in this frame of mind about myself and the much more depressive and troubling life situation and future than I ever could’ve expected.

Not to mention off the heels of a huge pandemic scare a couple years ago, and fresh into a new huge worldwide conflict scare just a couple hours ago.

So now that I’ve brought back the Paula memory, it might be time to channel another popular ’80s artist next. Mr. Eddie Money.

“I wanna go back and do it all over. But I can’t go back, I know.

I wanna go back. Cause I’m feelin’ so much older.

But I can’t go back, I know”

Leave a comment